Posted in Uncategorized

Fitting the Pieces Together EDUC 6115

Now that you have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, how has your view on how you learn changed?

After researching and gaining a deeper understanding of the different learning theories, my view on how I learn has not changed, however, I have gained a deeper understanding on how different learning theories and learning styles work together to strengthen a person’s learning. I am still a strong kinesthetic learner, but have realized how I incorporate visual and auditory learning styles to enhance my learning. I have always incorporated different learning theories into my learning and teaching styles, knowing that learning theories cannot be used independently, but collaboratively. When a combination of learning theories and styles are used, the learning experience is enhanced and you have more of an opportunity to master the skills needed, not just one way.

What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?

My learning style falls right in line with the learning theories that I am most comfortable with. The cognitive theory, constructivist theory, and adult learning are the learning theories that coincide with my learning style. I organize information, I am a self-led learner, and intrinsic motivation is why I strive to achieve my goals. My own personal learning preferences have not changed, but have been enhanced by what I have learned.

What role does technology play in your learning (i.e., as a way to search for information, to record information, to create, etc.)?

In my learning, technology provides me a way to research information, connect with people across the world, and have access to the most up to date information. Technology also provides me with the resources available to create online learning experiences. As an adult learner, technology can be intimidating at times, but at the same time it is an absolutely amazing experience that technology provides for students.

Author:

I am a Learning Strategy Lead, Project Manager, and Professor at the local college. I teach diverse audiences through in person and online learning environments. I manage projects that Instructional Designers create elessons for and consult on curriculum developments. I look forward to continuing to teach in the future, utilizing my instructional designer skills to help create engaging learning environments.

Leave a Reply

